Are you new to hunting and don’t know what rifles are legal to hunt with in Lower Michigan? You are in the right place!
Hunting is fun when you have the needed firearm and a place to hunt. Michigan is a great place to hunt whitetail deer and other game. However, hunters consider the Lower Peninsula the best spot in the state in terms of quality.
Hunting laws in the United States vary from state to state. So, you must follow state laws to avoid trouble with the authorities.
In this post, we’ll discuss rifles considered legal in Lower Michigan and other valuable information you need before you start your hunting journey in the state.
What Rifles Are Legal To Hunt With In Lower Michigan?
You can hunt with diverse riffles in Lower Michigan. Popular options hunters use include deer rifles, target rifles, and varmint rifles.
Each rifle has specific regulations hunters must follow to avoid issues with the authorities. However, you can use a 35-caliber or larger rifle with a straight-walled cartridge.
A Handy Tip: The .35 caliber or larger are the only legal calibers to hunt deer in Michigan. Thus, any rifle or shotgun that’s chambered for a smaller caliber than the .35 is illegal for deer hunting in Michigan.
Popular caliber hunters used for deer hunting in the state include 30-80, .308, including the .300 Winchester Magnums.
The straight-walled cartridges you can consider for hunting include the .44 Magnum, Winchester .350, and .450 Bushmaster.
The .44 Magnum is a breeze to find. You can purchase it from any store that sells ammo. However, the .450 Bushmaster is gaining more popularity fast.
Another thing that makes this cartridge so popular is that numerous guns and loads are built for it. In addition, the cartridge can work with the AR-15 Semiautomatic rifles.
On the other hand, the .350 Legends is fast becoming a popular option for hunters, though it’s a new addition to the straight-walled cartridge family. It is also based on the popular .223 case and built to function in the AR-15 style semi automatic rifles.
Can You Hunt With A Handgun In Michigan?
You can hunt with a handgun in Michigan, provided you have the license and own it. You must be 18 or older to possess, hunt or carry a handgun. In addition, you cannot borrow a handgun from someone.
Another thing you need to know about handguns is that the weapon must be carried in plain view. You can still carry it in a holster in plain view, too. Both are permitted.
What Animals Are Legal To Hunt In Michigan?
If you’re a new Michigan hunter, you may think that deer is the state’s only game legal to hunt. But here’s what you need to know. Deer isn’t the only game Michigan considers legal for hunting. There are a bunch of other animals, too.
You can hunt hares and rabbits if you want to. Furthermore, if you want to challenge yourself and take your hunting to the next level, you can also hunt for big games like bear.
Other animals you can hunt include Turkey, waterfowl and elk. However, these are only possible during specific times of the year.
Do You Need A License To Hunt In Michigan?
Of course, you need a license to hunt anywhere in Michigan. It’s the same thing across the United States of America; you need a license to hunt anywhere in the country.
All Michigan residents and non-residents who desire to hunt require a base license. This license permits hunters to hunt small games in Michigan and acquire additional hunting licenses.
A Handy Tip: The base license is $6 for juniors, $151 for non-residents, $11 for residents, and $5 for seniors in Michigan and above 65+ years.
Can You Hunt Deer In Michigan Without A License?
Unfortunately, you cannot hunt deer in Michigan without a license. You need a license to avoid harassment. You could be fined if caught hunting in Michigan without a license.
It does not matter whether you’re a U.S. citizen or a Michigan resident. You need a license to hunt in the state. Furthermore, the size and type of game you plan to hunt aren’t important. You need a license to hunt any game in Michigan.
Hunting licenses vary based on several factors. These include the game type you want to hunt and the hunter’s age. The age is divided into three groups: youths, adults and seniors.
The hunter’s age determines the license pricing and type. However, you can hunt in Michigan if you’re a military person in full-time active duty or a 100% disabled veteran. The military hunting license is $0 but only available for Michigan residents.
A Handy Tip: There are fines for illegal hunting in Michigan. You could pay upwards of $500 if caught hunting without a license in the state.
Fine for illegal taking of games, such as bear or wild turkey, include up to $1000. Furthermore, you could be fined up to $500 if you’re carrying a firearm while hunting and drunk at the same time.
Note that using artificial light sources illegally while hunting carries a fine of up to $500.
What Is The Youngest You Can Hunt In Michigan?
You can start hunting in Michigan if you’re 9 years or younger. However, parents have to decide when their children are ready to start hunting.
Youths 9 years or younger may participate in the state’s Mentored Youth Hunting Program. This program encourages youths to participate in such fun outdoor sports and learn how to hunt from an experienced mentor.
This program satisfies youths’ adventurous nature, giving them the right platform to develop their passion for hunting. It also eliminates the minimum hunting age in the state.
The unique thing about the youth hunting program is that parents can decide when their kids are ready and mature enough to engage in the sport. The sport offers so much fun and exposure kids need to gain valuable experience in hunting.
A Handy Tip: The youth hunting program is available to kids aged 9 or younger. Kids can participate even if they haven’t taken the hunter safety course. And though not mandatory, kids are advised to take the hunter safety course before participating in the youth hunting program.
Hunters 10 years or older must take the hunter safety course, but they can forgo the hunter education course for at least 2 years.
In this case, they would have to acquire the base apprentice license, which allows them to hunt with the direct supervision of a parent, guardian or someone chosen by the parents, or a certified hunter at least 21 years or older.
What You Need To Know About The Michigan Hunting Laws
If you’re new to hunting in Michigan, you’ll discover that the state has diverse hunting laws. The laws weren’t put in place to stifle hunting. Rather, they’re there to protect animals and hunters.
The Michigan hunting laws help to check the excesses of hunters and prevent illegal hunting activities. For example, there is a law against using self-propelled vehicles, including snowmobiles and ATVs.
There are laws regulating the outfit of hunters, too. For example, hunters are advised to wear blaze orange or pink outfits when hunting during specific seasons and some species.
What rifles are legal to hunt with in Lower Michigan? You can hunt with diverse riffles in Lower Michigan. The most common options hunters use are the target, deer, and varmint rifles. Each rifle has its specific set of regulations hunters must follow.
You can use a 35-caliber or larger rifle with a straight-walled cartridge. The .35 caliber or larger are the only legal calibers to hunt deer in Michigan. Thus, any rifle or shotgun chambered for a smaller caliber than the .35 is illegal for deer hunting in the state.
Popular calibers used for deer hunting in Michigan are 30-80, .308, and .300 Winchester Magnums. The straight-walled cartridges you can use for hunting are the .44 Magnum, Winchester .350, and .450 Bushmaster.
You need a license to hunt in Michigan. The state doesn’t tolerate illegal hunting and places fines on defaulters. You will pay a fine of up to $500 if caught hunting without a license.